FILED

CLERK, U.S. DISTRICT COURT

BY: Toni Appelt
DEPUTY

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

IN RE: THE CRIMINAL JUSTICE ACT

PANEL COMMITTEE FOR THE \$ WESTERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS \$

ORDER AMENDING MEMBERSHIP OF THE CJA PANEL COMMITTEE

Came on to be considered this date is the Amended Criminal Justice Act ("CJA") Plan for the Western District of Texas (May 1, 2023). The Amended CJA Plan requires that the Court establish a District CJA Panel Committee to assist the Court in administering the provisions of the CJA, 18 U.S.C. §3006A, and the Revised Amended CJA Plan. *See* Amended CJA Plan, Section VIII(A)(1). The District CJA Panel Committee reports directly to the Chief Judge and is comprised of a judicial officer of the District, as designated by the Chief Judge; the Federal Public Defender; the District CJA Panel Representative; and at least one private defense attorney member from each of the Divisional CJA Panel Committee. *See id*

Three members, Carly Barton, Richard Esper and Melanie Walker had terms that expired on 02/04/2024. One member, Alvaro Martinez, Jr, term will expire on 04/11/2024. Except for Ms. Barton, the other members have sought reappointment for either a one-year or two-year term. After consulting with the presiding judge in the Austin Division, Mr. Worth Carroll was chosen to replace Ms. Barton.

Accordingly, it is hereby ORDERED that the membership of the District CJA Panel Committee for the Western District of Texas is AMENDED as follows:

- Maureen Scott Franco
 Federal Public Defender
 Western District of Texas
 (Standing Member and Co-Chair)
- Cynthia Hujar Orr
 CJA Panel Representative
 Western District of Texas
 (Standing Member & Co-Chair)
- 3. Worth Carroll
 Austin Divisional Committee Member
 (1-Year Term to expire 03/18/2025)
- 4. Natasha Torres
 Del Rio Divisional Committee Member
 (3-Year Term to expire on 02/04/2025)
- 5. Richard D. Esper El Paso Divisional Committee Member (2-Year Term to expire 03/18/2026)
- 6. Alvaro Martinez, Jr.
 Midland-Odessa Divisional Committee Member
 (2-Year Term to expire 04/11/2026)
- 7. Shane O'Neal Pecos Divisional Committee Member (3-Year Term to expire 02/04/2025)
- Michael C. Gross
 San Antonio Divisional Committee Member
 (3-Year Term to expire 02/04/2025)
- 9. Melanie R. Walker Waco Divisional Committee Member (1-Year Term to expire 03/18/2025)

SIGNED on this 16th day of April 2024.

AIJIA MOSES Siliee i nuted ctatec d'

CHIEF UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE